top of page
  • Rikki Lambert

Labor, Greens likely to control a changed Victorian Upper House

One Nation's Rikkie-Lee Tyrell (left) with a simple campaign slogan before November's election

The controversial preferencing system may not have changed but the faces representing the regions of the state have transformed, with new faces in regional Victoria.

Pauline Hanson's One Nation party has its first Victorian MP in the form of Northern Victorian MLC-elect Rikkie-Lee Tyrell, plus a new Nationals MP in Gaelle Broad.

Across the upper house, the Greens have returned with quadruple strength after preference deals helped Derryn Hinch's Justice Party prevail in the final counts in 2018. Western Victoria's Stuart Grimley and Northern Victoria's Tania Maxwell both depart the parliament, as does Animal Justice Party's Andy Meddick in Western Victoria.

There are silver linings for both the AJP and the Liberal Democrats, who lose one representative but gain another. Georgie Purcell won the final seat in Northern Victoria for Animal Justice and whilst the LDP's Tim Quilty lost his Northern Victoria seat, his former parliamentary colleague David Limbrick returns in South-East metro. Limbrick had vacated his seat to unsuccessfully contest the May federal senate election.

The Shooters Fishers and Farmers Party will continue to be represented by Jeff Bourman, re-elected in Eastern Victoria in the final seat up for grabs. The controversy that embroiled lead Liberal candidate for Eastern Victoria, Renee Heath will continue after she was confirmed first elected in that region. The Victorian Liberals have confirmed Mrs Heath will be a member of the parliamentary Liberal Party despite, prior to the election, former leader Matthew Guy indicating she would not sit in the party room due to her church affiliations.

It is also a changing of the guard for the Coalition opposition, the Liberals with 7 new faces in their 12 MLC lineup and 1 new face for the Nationals joining 7-year MLC Melina Bath from Eastern Victoria..

Western Victorian first term Liberal Bev McArthur won a second term and will be joined in Western Victoria by new Liberal Joe McCracken. The region has its first Greens MP in Sarah Mansfield, ousting Andy Meddick on preferences. Mrs McArthur praised her new Western Victorian colleague:

"I am incredibly proud to be joined by new Liberal faces to the Legislative Council including my colleague Joe McCracken in Western Victoria Region.
"His effort has been extraordinary, and I know we are united in our desire to not only uphold Liberal values in this area, but to hold the Andrews Government to account."

Former Western Metro Liberal turned Democratic Labour Party candidate Bernie Finn failed in his quest to return to parliament under a new banner, but ousted Labor MP Adem Somyurek prevailed under the DLP banner, ousting the Reason Party's Fiona Patten.

Legalise Cannabis Victoria had its first electoral success, securing two seats in the form of David Ettershank in Western Metro and Rachel Payne in South-Eastern Metro.

Neither of the prospective governing groups control the Legislative Council, with Labor 4 seats short and the Coalition 5 short of forming a voting bloc. However, the Greens' 4 MLCs will likely see them dominate legislative negotiations to give Labor the lions share of the voting wins, with either Animal Justice or Legalise Cannabis prevailed upon for left-of-centre votes to succeed.


bottom of page