top of page
  • Jason Regan

Fire Permits available for Riverina landholders from Monday

The NSW Rural Fire Service (NSW RFS) will commence issuing fire permits for landholders located in three Riverina council districts from Monday.

Landowners in the Wagga Wagga, Lockhart and Junee council areas will be able to apply for fire permits to help manage their properties for agricultural purposes.

NSW RFS Operational Officer Bradley Stewart said landholders need to ensure they’ve obtained a fire permit and any necessary environmental approval before using fire as a tool on their property.

"Those applying for permits must also notify neighbours and fire authorities 24 hours before lighting up," Operational Officer Stewart said.
“Local landholders are reminded that the Bush Fire Danger Period does not end until the 31st March and that the threat of grass fires still remains a possibility.
“An escaped burn can quickly spread and threaten life and property.
“Before lighting any fire you need to have adequately prepared fire breaks and have firefighting equipment on hand to ensure the fire does not escape”.

Serious penalties, including fines and/or imprisonment, apply for failing to observe fire permit conditions or starting a fire without a permit during the Bush Fire Danger Period.

Fire permits can be obtained from your local Rural Fire Brigade or by contacting the Riverina Fire Control Centre on (02) 5958 6500.


bottom of page