top of page
  • Ellis Gelios

River Murray future now aligns with the Bloods : SANFL

The best talent from RMFL will now wear the Bloods colours, not the double-blue of Sturt

After undertaking an extensive boundaries review for the first time in half a decade, the SANFL has announced changes to Club recruiting zones which are sure to have a ripple effect on the local football landscape in South Australia.

The River Murray Football League will be impacted by the changes and will be realigned with the West Adelaide zone from the Sturt country zone.

Population and participation alterations in metropolitan and regional areas are said to be a dominant factor in the reason for the SANFL’s club zone amendments, which have been approved by the SA Football Commission.

The boundaries review takes place every five years, in conjunction with the release of the Australian Bureau of Statistics’ population census and housing data release.

The West Adelaide Bloods will now have a significant talent pool consisting of all River Murray clubs: Imperials, Ramblers, Mypolonga, Mannum, Jervois, Coorong Cats and Tailem Bend and soon the prospectively the Southern Mallee Suns formed out of the former Pinnaroo and Lameroo clubs.

Eudunda Robertstown Football Club also switches from Woodville-West Torrens zone with the Southern Saints to now be aligned with Central Districts.

The changes will take effect immediately.


bottom of page