top of page
  • Jason Regan

Northern Zone wins SA Country Cricket Carnival

Northern claimed the SA Country cricket carnival senior title today, winning the final against the previously undefeated South-East at Karen Rolton Oval.

The victorious Northern Zone team make their way from Karen Rolton Oval after winning the Grand Final over the South-East.

The South East won the toss and batted first and was bowled out for 207 in the 45th over. Opening batter Matthew McInerney top-scored for the South-East with 39 with Northern's Boby McDonald best with the ball taking 3 for 35.

In reply, Northern opener Zac Fielding's run a ball 77 set up the run chase with Riley Stirling (37*) and Chris Beaty (10*) seeing the winning runs delivered in just 38th over.

In other matches on Thursday, a brilliant 89* from Eyre Peninsula opener Harry Degner saw his team home by 7 wickets over Barossa and Light. And Cooper Luke smashed 75 from 45 balls to help Fleurieu & Districts chase down Yorke Peninsula's total of 152 in just 24.5 overs.

At the conclusion of the final on Karen Rolton Oval, the presentations for the carnival were held with Eyre Peninsula batter Louie Green collecting the Cec Starr player of the carnival award.

Eyre Peninusla's Harry Degner smashed his way to 89* against Barossa and Light on Thursday on Park 25 Number 2. Degner joined opening partner Louie Green in making the team of the carnival.

Green's outstanding carnival also saw him collect the batting aggregate award scoring 296 runs in the four matches at an average of 148.

Jayden Crees from Fleurieu & Districts won the bowling trophy with 10 wickets at an average of 13.20. Eyre Peninsula's Jackson Murphy and Matt McInerney of South East shared the fielding award.


bottom of page