top of page
  • Staff Writers

Cats, Suns among champions rising from Mallee ashes to Storm River Murray footy and netball

Inaugural Southern Mallee Suns board members proudly chart a new direction for the merged entity

Bruce Phillips appeared on the Flow Friday Sports Show to weigh in on new the identities for ex-Mallee Football League clubs.

Amid the confirmation over the past fortnight that newly amalgamated clubs will field teams in the upcoming 2023 seaons, Bruce Phillips offered his opinion on the identities of the three newly created ex-Mallee clubs.

The clubs will officially be known as the Coorong Cats, The Southern Mallee Suns and the Mallee Districts Storm.

The Cats comprise the incumbent River Murray Football League side Meningie Bears and the merged entity, Border Downs Tintinara Crows.

The Suns represent former rivals, now allies against the rest, Pinnaroo and Lameroo.

The Storm features the lineups from Peake Districts and Karoonda.

Phillips also updated listeners on the latest Murray Towns Cricket results.


bottom of page