top of page
  • Jason Regan

Yarriambiack Shire has a new Mayor

Former deputy mayor Kylie Zanker was elected as the new Mayor of the Yarriambiack Shire Council at last night's Statutory meeting of Council.

Mayor Zanker takes the Mayor chains from outgoing Mayor Graeme Massey who decided not to renominate for the position but will remain on the council until the next council election in 2024.

Mayor Zanker was first elected to Council in 2008 as a member of the Warracknabeal Ward and has served under Cr Massey as Deputy Mayor after being elected unopposed in 2020.

The role of Deputy Mayor went to fellow Warracknabeal Ward Councillor Karly Kirk with the pair joining CEO Jessie Holmes to form one of the few all-female leadership teams in local government history.

Newly elected Mayor Zanker has been contacted for comment.


bottom of page