top of page
  • Writer's pictureFlow Australia

Rural Doctors Association of Australia 2023 Award winners!

ACRRM-RDAA Peter Graham ‘Cohuna’ Award

Dr Mark Zagorski, Victoria

As well as being a dedicated doctor to his community of Mount Beauty and surrounds for more than 40 years, Mark has shown exceptional commitment to training medical students, junior doctors and registrars, and has been actively involved in the work of the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine (ACRRM) and the Rural Doctors Association of Victoria.

RDAA Rural Doctor of the Year

Dr Richard Mackinnon, SA

Richard recently retired after serving the SA rural communities of Crystal Brook and Laura as a Rural Generalist doctor for 35 years. He has been a passionate advocate for saving rural maternity and other procedural services across the state, and a highly committed teacher of medical students, junior doctors and registrars. He has also been actively involved in the work of the Rural Doctors Association of South Australia.

RDAA Rural Doctor in Training of the Year

Dr Mandeep Kaur, NSW

A junior doctor of Punjabi-Sikh heritage, Mandeep has shown a strong commitment to Rural Medicine and worked tirelessly in both supporting the wellbeing of her peers and improving access to healthcare for rural Australians - including helping to develop a remote Rheumatology telehealth service for the Riverina region.

RDAA Medical Student of the Year

Ms Kate Hurst, NSW

Kate is a final year medical student from The University of Notre Dame Australia’s Clinical School in Wagga Wagga. She received her Award for (amongst many things) her strong commitment to Rural Medicine, supporting the wellbeing of medical students and junior doctors, and her efforts in empowering disadvantaged rural high school students to consider careers as doctors and other health professionals.

bottom of page