top of page
  • Writer's pictureFlow Australia

Race begins to take over former premier's seat

The Victorian Electoral Commission is urging political hopefuls to act quickly to be in the race for former premier Daniel Andrews' seat of Mulgrave.

Political hopefuls looking to replace Daniel Andrews in his seat in Melbourne's outer southeast are being urged to stump up a deposit and get their nominations in fast.

The Victorian Electoral Commission on Monday confirmed Lower house Speaker Maree Edwards had issued a writ for the November 18 Mulgrave by-election after Mr Andrews quit politics last month following almost nine years as Victorian premier.

The date was flagged late last week, with electoral commissioner Sven Bluemmel on Monday urging tens of thousands of residents to make sure their details were correct before the poll.

Mr Bluemmel said prospective candidates should act quickly to avoid missing out on lodging nominations.

The deadline for registered political parties to nominate endorsed candidates is 12pm on November 1, while independent candidates have to lodge their forms along with a $350 deposit by noon the following day.

The electoral commission was expected to hold an information session about the key requirements for nominating for a by-election on Wednesday.

The election manager would draw candidates' names to determine their position on the ballot paper on November 2, the  commission said.

A Liberals spokesman said the party's candidate for the by-election would be decided on Wednesday night.

Dandenong mayor Eden Foster, who grew up within Mulgrave's suburbs of Noble Park and Springvale, has been confirmed as Labor's pick.

Ms Foster's fellow councillor Rhonda Garad has been pre-selected as the Victorian Greens' candidate. 

Mulgrave will be the second Victorian by-election this year after the Liberals retained Warrandyte in Melbourne's northeast following the retirement of veteran MP Ryan Smith, in a poll Labor did not contest.

Mr Andrews was MP for Mulgrave since 2002, when the seat was re-created after being abolished in 1967.


bottom of page